How Games Changed My Life – Persona 4

Recently, I stumbled upon a heartwarming website about people’s testimonies how video games saved their lives.

Seeing as two games also have changed my life, I decided to give my own testimony – How games changed my life. (I’ll only do one for now, though. Those two games changed my life in two different aspects)

Persona 4 is one of the two games that changed my life.

Before I played Persona 4, I was a stubborn young man who desired to be a good man and to be the best. However, I did it the wrong way. I feel down when I couldn’t stop my own mistakes and I often compare myself with others. I used to overestimate other people’s lives too much and underestimated mine.

However, playing it changed my attitude.

I learned that I’m not the only who ever had it rough in life. Everyone’s the same – They also has their own difficulties that very few have known. Everybody also has a part of themselves that they don’t want to admit – a dark, weak part of them. However no matter how much we want to deny it, they are still a part of ourselves. They are what made us. Accepting your Shadow doesn’t mean you give up for change; it means that you admit that weak part as a part of you and try to do the best you can to be a better person.

Since then, I learned to be more grateful with what I already have, and try my best to be a good friend and a good listener for people who need them the most. I understand people better. That’s why I have talked about being grateful several times in my other articles, because once you let go of your dark shackles called envy, you actually soar higher. No kidding. I felt it myself.

The story of Persona 4 also taught me a lot to always reach out for the truth. It taught me not to give in to the temptation of easy exits and false terminals; not to delude myself in blissful ignorance; not to turn a blind eye to the things you have to see. Solve the problem, not run away from them. Since then, I’m doing my best to always keep reaching out for the truth, because no matter how painful the truth may be, you will be lying to yourself if you delude yourself. Do you really want a life like that? Do you really want to give up that easily? I do not.

Persona 4 also reminds me that humanity is constantly on trial. There might or might not be a God or gods who is judging us, but the fact doesn’t change that we, as a whole, is always under trial – to see if we could reach a better state of living, or will just lead ourselves into destruction. This idea is also shared among other Persona games, notably 2 and 3 (I didn’t play Persona 1 so I don’t know); humanity needs to change. And we HAVE the capacity for that! It’s just that too many people aren’t willing to do it. Our fates lie on our own shoulders.

Persona 4 also made me realize the true power of bonds. Nobody’s perfect, and maybe your weakness will always stay with you. But, we can overcome it because we are not alone.

“When you’re alone, it’s difficult to see a way out. You can’t find it unless someone else shows you. That’s when you learn the extraordinary power derived from one’s relationship.”

— Kirijo Mitsuru in Persona 4 Arena

Last but not least, do you know what gave birth to my passion in art? You guessed it. I was having so much fun playing Persona 4 that I wanted to make a wallpaper of it, that’s how I started to learn Photoshop by myself.

Persona 4 helped me fix my attitude and views on life in general.

And truth to be told, I feel a lot better about my own life ever since. 😀

Finally, I hope that you too, will one day be a witness to the power of bonds and be a seeker of truth.

Have your own testimonies? You can share it too in the comments form below!

3 thoughts on “How Games Changed My Life – Persona 4

  1. I will always come back and read this blog of yours whenever i feel like giving up. By the way i bought persona 4: The golden for my PS Vita and it was a great game and EPIC story

Tell me what you think

